Support Your NPELRA Foundation

57 Scholarships Awarded Totaling $156,000.00
(as of December 2017)

The National PELRA Foundation

The NPELRA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) subsidiary of the National Public Employer Labor Relations Association (National PELRA) that provides scholarships to deserving graduate students studying labor and/or employee relations within the public sector.  

Anthony "Tony" C. Russo was a pioneer and giant in the field of public sector collective bargaining, and in the creation of and growth of the National PELRA.  For the first 10 years of the National PELRA's existance, Tony Russo was, indeed, the heart and soul of the National PELRA by being a Founding Member and served on its first four Board of Directors.  Tony repeatedly urged negotiators representing public entities to stand and unite and stand strong in the face of repeated union personal and political attacks.

Founded in 1996, the NPELRA Foundation’s Anthony "Tony" C. Russo Scholarship Program was created and since that time the Foundation has given 56 graduate students much needed assistance in their pursuit of advanced degrees in the field of labor relations. The scholarship recipiants are folks whose interests and career goals are similar to ours. Many already work in the public sector and are National PELRA members. 

You can be assured your contribution will be used for the Anthony "Tony" C Russo Scholarship Program. The Foundation’s administrative expenses are de minimus. (Its Officers and Directors receive no reimbursement for their efforts or expenses.)


Please join us with a tax deductible contribution using a credit card

The following credit cards are accepted

  • american express
  • discove
  • mastercard
  • visa

We thank you,

Foundation President: Sam Penrod

Foundation Secretary: Jan Lanza

Foundation Board Members: Rick Hunt, Brent Long, Caroline Beitman, Aundrea Cordle, Melanie Ault