Award of Excellence

Award of Excellence 2020

Maurice Evans, Retired Secretary and Chief Examiner of Civil Service, City of Dayton, Dayton, Oh

Award of Excellence - Past Winners

  • 2019: James Pendergast, CEO, Penmar Consulting, Albuquerque, NM
  • 2018: Louis R. Giardina, Manager, Labor Relations, Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority, Buffalo, NY
  • 2017: Tammara Williams, Senior Director Human Resources, Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada, Las Vegas, NV
  • 2016: Teresa Rotschafer, Finance/HR Director, City of Johnston, Johnston, IA
  • 2015: Joe Carrillo, Deputy Director of Human Resources, Pierce County, Tacoma, WA
  • 2014: Bernadette Welch, Human Resources Consultant, North Branford, CT
  • 2013: Jerry Keating, Assistant General Manager/Chief Human Resources Officer, Regional Transportation Commission of Southern Nevada, Las Vegas, NV
  • 2012: Kent Michaelson, HR Director, City of Bloomington, Bloomington, MN
  • 2011: Douglas E Duckett, Attorney, Duckett Law, Cincinnati, OH
  • 2010: Robin Hall, Human Resources Director, City of Lynnwood, Lynnwood, WA
  • 2009: Thomas Nowell, Arbitrator, OH
  • 2008: Walt Pellegrini, General Counsel, NY GOER, Albany, NY
  • 2007: Susan Love, Attorney, Buelow, Vetter, Bulkema, Olsen and Vliet, Waukesha, WI
  • 2006: Cathy Raymond, Human Resources Director, City of Olympia, Olympia, WA
  • 2005: Trude Elliott, Human Resources Director, Linn County, Cedar Rapids, IA
  • 2004: Jeannette Sobania, Human Resources Manager, City of Plymouth, Plymouth, MN
  • 2003: Irene Koski, Director of Human Resources, Stearns County, Stearns, MN
  • 2002: Gary M. O'Bannon, Deputy Director, City of Kansas City, Kansas City, MO
  • 2001: John Liebert, Attorney, Liebert, Cassidy, Whitmore, Los Angeles, CA
  • 2000: Madge Blakey, Labor Relations Manager, County of San Diego, San Diego, CA
  • 1999: Steven Rosenthal, President, Training Tree, FL
  • 1998: James W Geissner, Director of Personnel, City of La Crosse, La Crosse, WI
  • 1997: Dean R. Mielke, Labor Relations Officer, City of Miami, Miami, FL
  • 1996: William L. Holcomb, President, William Holcomb and Associates, NY
  • 1995: R. Theodore Clark, Jr., Attorney, Seyfarth Shaw, Chicago, IL
  • 1994: Orv Placial, Personnel Director, City of Orange, Orange, CA
  • 1993: Keith Krinke, Director of Human Resources, WBUTAE, WI
  • 1992: Thomas A. Payne, Director of Central Services, City of Dayton, Dayton, OH
  • 1991: John Martinez, Employee Relations Director, City of Albuquerque, Albuquerque, NM
  • 1990: John F. "Duke" Hoffman, Director of Employee Relations and Personnel, City of Glendale, Glendale, CA
  • 1989: Rolland C. Toenges, Director of Labor Relations, Hennepin County, Hennepin, MN
  • 1988: Kermit Francis, Director of Personnel, City of Arcadia, Arcadia, CA
  • 1987: Edward J. "Ned" Gusty, Commissioner of Personnel, Onondaga County, Onondaga, NY
  • 1986: Frank H. Forbes, Jr., Assistant City Manager, City of Gainsville, Gainsville, FL
  • 1985: Anthony C. "Tony" Russo, Director, City of New York, New York, NY
  • 1984: Sam J. Nalbone, Director of Labor Relations, City of Jamestown, Jamestown, NY